Membership of ACT

15th August 2015

Photo: Thomas White/DCA/ACT

Thank you for your interest in becoming a member of ACT Alliance. As a member of this global alliance you will join more than 140 churches and faith-based organisations working together in the areas of development, humanitarian work and advocacy in all regions of the world.

ACT Alliance members benefit from the on-the-ground experiences, resources, skill sets and best practices of one another, which are shared among the different organisations working together through formal and informal groupings.

Through the ACT Alliance brand our members also have their voices amplified at all levels of relevant policy debates – national, regional and global level.

Please see the following criteria for membership and observer status of the alliance. If, after reviewing the criteria, you would like to pursue membership or observer status or to request further information, please get in touch with:

Alexandra Segura
ACT Alliance Member Relations Coordinator

Full membership

Churches and faith-based organisations that meet ALL of the following four (1-4) criteria are eligible to apply for membership to the ACT Alliance:

1. Churches and faith-based organisations shall be either:

(a) a member church of the World Council of Churches (WCC) or Lutheran World Federation (LWF), or

(b) a specialised ministry for humanitarian assistance and/or development of a member church if it is constituted as a separate legal entity, or

(c) an organisation affiliated with at least one member church of the WCC through governance.

Exceptions may be made for:

(d) Organisations which were previously part of a member organisation but have become independent (such applications must come with the endorsement of the member organisation)

(e) Churches or ecumenical organisations that have had a long historical programmatic working relationship with the WCC and/or a regional ecumenical organisation, referring to the:

  • All Africa Conference of Churches
  • Christian Conference of Asia
  • Consejo Latinoamericano de Iglesias (CLAI)
  • Conference of European Churches
  • Conference of Caribbean Churches
  • Middle East Conference of Churches
  • Pacific Conference of Churches

(f) Ecumenical organisations from a country where there are no member churches of either the WCC or LWF.

2. The primary mandate of church-related organisations must be to work in the area of humanitarian assistance and/or development

3. The church or faith-based organisation must have a commitment to high quality development and/or humanitarian assistance activities

4. The church or faith-based organisation should be either a national, regional or international organisation

Current ACT Alliance members

Observer Status

The following types of organisations may apply for Observer Status within the ACT Alliance:
  • Regional ecumenical organisations and national councils of churches which do not have their own development or humanitarian assistance programmes (and who therefore do not qualify to be members), but who wish to work closely with the alliance
  • Mission organisations belonging to member churches of the WCC and LWF who are engaged in development and/or humanitarian assistance work, and who commit to adhering to the ACT Alliance Code of Good Practice
  • Global ecumenical bodies who wish to work closely with ACT Alliance

ACT Alliance currently has seven observers

ACT Alliance Member Application Process

Membership application form 2016

Membership Agreement

Observer Agreement