Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania (ELCT)

ELCT officially began its work in 1963. Before there were 7 churches in the then Tanganyika (now Tanzania). The 7 churches amalgamated on the 19th day of June 1963. At the time of amalgamation, there were a total number of 500,000 church members. To date, ELCT has 6.3m members.

The church is divided into 22 Dioceses (two dioceses registered this year). Each Diocese is headed by a Bishop.

The headquarters for the ELCT are in Arusha. The church is headed the Presiding Bishop (Bish. Dr. Alex Gehaz Malasusa), Secretary General (Mr. Brighton B. Killewa).