Indonesia: Earthquake in Aceh province

8th December 2016

A 6.4 magnitude earthquake struck Indonesia’s Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam province at 05.03am local time on 7 December 2016. Indonesia’s national disaster management agency (BNPB) has reported that 97 people have died and more than 600 have been injured. Around 200 buildings have either collapsed or are heavily damaged. ┬áThe most heavily affected district is Pidie Jaya, particularly the 4 sub-districts – total population 104,430 (2015) – of Bandar Baru, Trienggadeng, Bandar Dua and Meureudu (district capital).



This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn More