Communities of Practice

Disability inclusive development CoP


The Disability-Inclusive development CoP aims to raise the profile of disability in the ACT Alliance, promote understanding of it as a human rights issue and actively advocate for the rights of people with disabilities. The CoP's role is to gather the experiences of ACT members and others working in this area, to share that knowledge and support members to implement disability-inclusive programmes.

ACT secretariat focal point: Felomain Nassar, felomain.nassar[at]actalliance.org
Chair: Tytti Matsinen, Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Mission (FELM), tytti.matsinen[at]felm.org

Disaster risk reduction (DRR) and adaptation to climate change CoP



The aim of the DRR, Climate Change Adaptation and Sustainable Development CoP is to encourage ACT members to build disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation into their work. The CoP is a space for the exchange of ideas and experiences. It provides knowledge, expertise and advice, produces background material and represents ACT at international negotiations, conferences and other events.


ACT secretariat focal point:
 James Munpa, james.munpa[at]actalliance.org

Chair: Jeroen Jurriens, ICCO Cooperation (ICCO), jeroen.jurriens[at]icco-cooperation.org


Gender equality and justice CoP


ACT has committed itself to working gender awareness into all of its work. The overall objective of the Gender Equality and Justice CoP is to embed gender equality into ACT’s internal structures and into the programme guidelines for ACT members. The CoP supports members in their efforts to create policy and programming that works for gender justice, to ensure that programmes reflect the needs and wishes of all people.


ACT secretariat focal point
: Alison Kelly, alison.kelly[at]actalliance.org

Co-ChairsClare Paine, Christian Aid (CA), cpaine[at]christian-aid.org and Emilie Weiderud, Church of Sweden (CoS) emilie.weiderud[at]svenskakyrkan.se

Human rights in development CoP


The Human Rights in Development CoP aims to further the implementation of rights-based development strategies within the alliance and among its partners. Its work involves enabling civil society action, based on international human rights standards.


ACT secretariat focal point
: Gezahegn Gebrehana gezehegn.gebrehana@actalliance.org

Chair: Dr Julia Duchrow, Bread for the World (BfdW), julia.duchrow[at]brot-fuer-die-welt.de


Migration and development CoP


The Migration and Development CoP takes advantage of ACT members’ and partners’ in-depth knowledge to help develop useful interventions for the protection of migrants’ rights. The group’s common working issues include migrants’ rights, statelessness, migration and livelihoods, migration and climate change, and trafficked persons on the move. It also aims to strengthen and increase the visibility of ecumenical structures related to migration and development.


ACT secretariat focal point
: Christian Wolff christian.wolff[at]actalliance.org

Chair: Sophia Wirsching, Bread for the World (BfdW), Sophia.wirsching[at]brot-fuer-die-welt.de


Psychosocial CoP





The overall objective of the Psychosocial Support CoP is to strengthen the alliance’s capacity for psychosocial support. It aims to give suffering communities resilience and capacity to cope by building cooperation and opening access to the support they need. In 2014, the CoP worked on spreading the importance of community-based psychosocial support (CBPS) as a vital part of any ACT Alliance humanitarian response, across all sectors. The group is also working to show the relevance of CBPS to development work.


ACT secretariat focal point: Rosa Maria Matamoros rosa.matamoros[at]actalliance.org
Chair: Hepi Rahmawati, YEU Indonesiahepi.rahmawati[at]gmail.com and Carina Hjelmstam Winberg, Church of Sweden (CoS) (interim), carina.hjelmstam.winberg[at]svenskakyrkan.se


Religion and Development CoP


The objective of this CoP is  to develop a better understanding of the intersection between religion and development, contributing to improve development interventions that engage people’s world views, values and practices informed by religion for sustainability and local ownership, as well as play a constructive role in ensuring that the convergence that seems to be emerging between religion and development is consolidated, appropriated, spread and translated into global policy on development.


ACT secretariat focal point: Alison Kelly, alison.kelly[at]actalliance.org
Chair: Dietrich Werner, Bread for the World (BfdW), dietrich.werner[at]brot-fuer-die-welt.de



Safety and security CoP





The Safety and Security CoP is made up of the safety and security experts linked to ACT member organisations. These experts are responsible for the safety and security of people deployed to programmes. As well as providing training to their own staff, the CoP advises ACT forums in their response efforts. The CoP tries to cover every country in which its members work and to have a training opportunity there annually.It monitors the hot spots of the world, focusing on particular regions. The great value of this group is in the knowledge of its members and their drive to provide proper safety and security.



ACT secretariat focal point: James Davis, james.davis[at]actalliance.org
Chair: Susan Muis, The Lutheran World Federation (LWF), susan.muis[at]lutheranworld.org
Co-chair: Andrew Kirkham, Christian Aid (CA), akirkham[at]christian-aid.org

For more information visit the CoPs dedicated website www.act-security.org

(The ACT online security induction course is available on the same homepage)


Youth Participation CoP


This CoP aims to grow youth participation in ACT Alliance. It aims to ensure that youth are treated as agents of change and have their voices heard. Many ACT Alliance member organisations are working with youth-related issues, having intergenerational approaches and having their own youth organisations, therefore the CoP creates a common meeting space for these organisations, to increase the attention given to youth participation and encourage cooperation across the alliance on such issues.

ACT secretariat focal point: Alexandra Segura, alexandra.segura[at]actalliance.org
Co-Chairs
Håvard Skogerbø, Changemaker Norway , havard[at]changemaker.no and Caroline Bader, The Lutheran World Federation (LWF), Caroline.Bader[at]lutheranworld.org